top of page

Less than 30 Days..so much to do

The past weeks have been filled with excitement, as the time for this adventure gets closer. I am still waiting on how to book a hotel in Kolda. Fanta (the teacher in Senegal, I will be teamed up with) has been helping Tinty and I select one based on her knowledge. There seems to be few selections. Hotel Le Firdou and Hotel Hobbe seem to be the two she likes best. Getting reservations over the Internet seems to be the issue. This may be the first obstacle to overcome with a lack of technology that I am used to having literally at my fingertips.

I am trying to tie in my love of technology and science into this teaching opportunity. I wholehearted feel that science is a universal language that all cultures can share. I have contacted PITSCO where I am a member of the Teacher Advisory Group, to see about shipping a Straw Rocket science kit to the Kolda schools. If they do not donate one, I think I may buy one bring on my own. My students have loved using this equipment and I know the students in Kolda will too. While simplistic, so many lessons can be learned and shared with science and math.

A side project is to create some short videos of life here in Enid Oklahoma. My Daughter Carleigh has been busy making a video about high school here. I think she has enlisted some of her friends as well. I am excited to see her project!

My beautiful and smart Carleigh is on the left..:)

Simultaneously, my diligent fifth graders are starting their global project on sharing what their lives are like here in our small town. I am positive that the Kolda students have no idea what a Friday night football game is like, in the way we celebrate it.

I am anxious to see if my students can find the similarities of the different cultures rather than focus on the differences. This will be a wonderful experience for them as they get to connect with students like themselves who live in such a different place, and culture.

bottom of page