top of page

Goree Island- Last full day in Senegal

Today we went to the island of Goree. This was a slave trading outpost where slaves were collected to be loaded on ships heading the the Americas. While it has its beginnings in bleakness and horror the residents have turned it into an Art complex. I love how they took control of its negative image and made it become a modern day historical place with a positive image.

One the island there is a door of no return. Once slaves entered this door they were taken to the slave ships never to return and sometimes never to see their families again. Something so pretty but so horrible at he same time.

I did however find many examples of beauty. I did play around with my camera a bit to try to capture the beauty around me.

The local artwork was also simply fantastic. We watched a man use nothing more than sand to make things of splendor.

The entire island was filled with alluring forms of art.

Still love this quilt. I have it in my class to remind me forever of Senegal and the love I have for it.

bottom of page