top of page

Dakar!

We landed late so the the first glimpse of Africa was of the lights of the fishing boats flashing by under the plane. Soon the cities twinkling beauty came into view. The small isolated pockets of lights soon merged into a city sprawl I am used to.

After landing, there was the usual controlled chaos of people deplane go and flight crews performing there multitudes of tasks in the background. We unloaded on the tarmac and wee buses to a semi open aired arrival terminal. The humidity was papuable but not too bad. We had a teacher for global classrooms (TGC) helper meet us there and help facilitate the journey through baggage and customs.

Only Margret was missing bags. As with any tri, there are some things that do not go as planned. She lost both of her bags and was promised that they would be delivered to the hotel tomorrow.

When we left the airport, it brought back memories of Baghdad Iraq. The multitudes of people outsides the gates. Some in traditional clothing and some in western clothing. The buildings were made of cinder block with the same flat sided and flat roof architectural style. Most buliding s were white or a shade of cream. Store lights and billboards were I. French this time. The sounds of horns honking and people selling wares were almost identical to Baghdad as well. The blend of French and Middle East cultures remind me of the movie Casablanca.

Soon we were besieged by people thrusting pamphlets and objects at us through the gates. Smiling and politic shaking your head no did not deter the more persistent sellers. As we were putting our bags on the van we would take to the hotel, a man helped load them. Then he climbed into the bus asking for a dollar. I think he ended up with about 10 dollars as we all gave one. I think he made out pretty well for about 10 minutes worth of work.

The kids begging for money hit me hard. Even though I knew this would occur, it is so hard not to give them something. I gave one boy a dollar even though I knew this could open the flood gates for others. But kids are kids and I felt better.

They live such a different life then my own at home. The duality of this boy verses mine own at home is astonishing. I have to tell my son to get off the Xbox and go to bed at 9pm where this boy was out on the streets at 11pm asking for money. Even after traveling around the world as I have, this aspect really drives home how lucky and privileged we are to live where we do and have the things we take for granted. I think that this trip will drive that aspect home for me even more.

I was so tired I crashed last night so I am writing last night's entry the first thing this morning. We are heading out to exchange money for local currency. The currently here is the West African Frac (XOF). Currently it is 614 XOF to one dollar.

More entries later today.

bottom of page